Review Board 1.7.16


AMI :: Debug manager actions in the CLI

Review Request #1421 - Created Sept. 7, 2011 and updated

Olle E Johansson
https://origsvn.digium.com/svn/asterisk/team/oej/rana-manager-debug-trunk
ASTERISK-18447
Reviewers
asterisk-dev
Asterisk
Adds a new option to manager.conf. When enabled, all manager actions will be output in the CLI session, in order to be able to debug a system controlled by AMI connections.

Red dots will be removed before commit
Works fine on my system and a system at customer site in 1.4 version. The 1.8 version is not much different.
Total:
2
Open:
2
Resolved:
0
Dropped:
0
Status:
From:
Description From Last Updated Status
Red blob :-) Matt Jordan April 13, 2014, 6:52 p.m. Open
When this goes in, a comment in the CHANGES file please! Matt Jordan April 13, 2014, 6:52 p.m. Open
Ship it!
Posted (Sept. 7, 2011, 4:19 a.m.)
Looks simple enough...  Is there a diff for trunk that we can test?
  1. Click "download diff" above :-) And feel free to add to it if you miss some features! Thanks for testing.
Posted (Sept. 7, 2011, 4:42 a.m.)
I don't really like the idea of adding a debug command to the manager.conf file at all. That seems like the wrong way to go about this. I'd much prefer to see you use the logger.conf file to control the logging. This allows the administrator to determine where and what is being logged, and when. You could add a logger channel called 'manager' if that isn't already there. That way an administrator could like to a file, or enable it via the console if they wished. In addition to that, I'd like to see it controlled via a CLI command like 'manager set debug {on|off|<level>}' to give an administrator the ability to control when they see the manager debug on the console.
  1. Ok. Closing this review for the moment until someone has time and resources to fix those issues.
  2. Leif: I don't see a lot of logger channels that are similar to this. It seems to me like what you propose is an architecture change. Aren't you confusing this with manager event groups?
Posted (April 11, 2014, 10:02 a.m.)
I've used this for a very long time in my own version of Asterisk and still find it useful. Shouldn't we try to make something along these lines happen?
  1. The purpose of the patch is to debug AMI actions on an active system. While this could be implemented as a logger.conf channel, it would be relatively different from the existing logger channels. Logger channels today specify destinations for log messages. Some of these have special purposes (console, syslog); otherwise they specify files to create. Having a log channel of 'manager' that specifies which messages to send - and not their destination - would be a relatively new/different thing to create. (OTOH, having a 'manager' destination that accepted log messages would be ... interesting? Maybe? But not germane to this patch)
    
    As such, I tend to agree with Olle here: this is just a debug switch. We have plenty of those in .conf file for helping system administrators debug problems.
    
    A CLI command that toggled this behaviour would be ideal, but is not strictly necessary.
Posted (April 13, 2014, 6:52 p.m.)

   

  
Red blob :-)
When this goes in, a comment in the CHANGES file please!
Ship it!
Posted (April 13, 2014, 6:52 p.m.)
Ship It!

https://reviewboard.asterisk.org/ runs on a server provided by Digium, Inc. and uses bandwidth donated to the open source Asterisk community by API Digital Communications in Huntsville, AL USA.
Please report problems with this site to asteriskteam@digium.com.